OpenRemote with 868Mhz and 434MHz transceivers

I now have my OpenRemote system working with two transceivers: one at 868Mhz and one at 434MHz.

The 868MHz one is an RFM12B module on a Jeelink and is using FSK transmission using the Jeelib library. This is currently receiving messages from my Jeenode based room node. This transmits light level, motion detection, temperature, humidity and a battery low indicator. I plan to deploy one of these in every room, some without the humidity sensor, and possibly some with a sound meter plug.

I have ordered an 868MHz emonTx for electricity monitoring. This uses the same protocol. I also plan to use Jeenode based sensors to transmit soil moisture level for my house plants, and to use the Jeelabs Infrared plug to control my TV and other media equipment. It will be lower power than my current IR remote box.

The 434MHz sensor uses the Cool Components transmitters and receivers, attached to an Arduino Uno. It runs my LightwaveRF library and is used to switch sockets on and off and detect on/off or open/shut messages from LightWaveRF remote controls and switches. Detecting the remote control signals allows me to keep slightly better track of the status of sockets, if the LightWaveRF remote is used rather than the OpenRemote Android app. It is not anywhere as good as proper status monitoring as I do not always know the original state of the socket, I do not see manual switching, and I might miss some messages.

OpenRemote is back running on my Windows laptop, which is more convenient for developing than the Raspberry Pi, and much faster. Things will probably need some performance improvements when I deploy it on the Raspberry Pi again.

I have a lot to get all the Jeenode sensors and LightWaveRF devices deployed, but I am still looking at other devices. I think LightWaveRF lighting is more of a priority than the heating stuff.

I have ordered a current cost device from EDF and have started looking at Jack Kelly’s library for this. This uses an RFM12B transceiver on an Nanode, Jeenode or Arduino. I will have to get a 434Mhz RFM12B for this. I am not sure which device I will deploy it on. It is potentially a third transeiver. I am keen to use tthe current cost devices to both monitor electricity usage of individual appliances and to detect when the appliances are switched on and off. I think this will be a more reliable way to detect when the washing machine, dryer or dish washer has finished.

I still have to get my wireless heating system, doorbell, and blinds working. It will be interesting to see how many different transeivers I end up with.

This entry was posted in Arduino, Electronics, Home automation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OpenRemote with 868Mhz and 434MHz transceivers

  1. heh I’m trying to do exactly the same thing, but with Rpi to act as the main server.
    Gonna have to keep an eye on your blog! Ive just got my RFM12B soldered to pins and lashed up in a breadboard with rpi gpio Breakout.
    I’m hoping it works and isn’t too hard to get it doing something!

Leave a Reply

