EDF Individual Appliance Monitors

My Nanode RF 433Mhz arrived so I tried Jack Kelly’s application for the EDF IAM.

The EDF IAM lets you switch appliances on and off, and also returns the current power usage in watts and the status (on or off). The EDF device is a variant of the CurrentCost Individual Appliance Monitor. The advantage of the EDF version is that it only returns data when you poll it, which is easier to manage especially if you have lots of them.

This is the EDF IAM:

nanode rf 006

and this is the Nanode RF:

nanode rf 008.

Jack Kelly’s ecomanager application worked perfectly straight away. It showed the ID of the EDF IAM, which it calls a trx, and let me add it as a new node. It also deals with the Current cost variant, which is calls a tx.

Data is returned as JSON:

{"type": "trx", "id": 1567559737, "t": 7809937, "sensors": {"1": 122}, "state": 1}

This is yet another RF transceiver to add to my OpenRemote system. I will see if I can use the Nanode RF to communicate with LightwaveRF devices. Expect a future post on this.

The EDF IAMs are better than the LightwaveRF plug-in sockets, as they return both the status and the power usage. However, they do not provide all the options that LightwaveRF does, such as replacement of wall sockets, and they are slightly more expensive at £14.99 (including VAT).

I plan to use the EDF IAMs for their intended purpose of monitoring individual appliances. For example, I am currently monitoring my desktop PC, and it, and its various peripherals, are using about 125 watts.

I also plan to use them to tell my OpenRemote system when appliances have finished their cycle. This will be useful for indicating when washing is finished and needs to be put in the dryer, and then when the dryer is finished. Similarly for the dishwasher.

The Nanode RF is a very nice device. I am not currently using its Ethernet capabilities, but I could use it to communicate directly from OpenRemote rather than using a serial link from a Raspberry Pi or other host. I will try that sometime. The is a newer version – the Nanode Gateway, but that only seems to be available in an 868MHz version in Europe – at least that is all I could find in their shop.

This entry was posted in Electronics, Home automation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to EDF Individual Appliance Monitors

  1. Castle says:

    Did you ever try work out getting the device to respond from the eth rather than via the Pi?

Leave a Reply

