Turning ORControl into a product

I have been tidying up and refactoring the code for ORControl. I will put it in Github soon.

I am considering turning it into a open source product that others can use.

What sort of product would it be and what would its features be?

I think I would position it as an add-on server for use with OpenRemote, whose main feature is control of LightwaveRF devices without the use of the Wifi link. It is also to some extent a free-standing web server for controlling home automation devices, but its capabilities are limited for this.

What are its features:

  • Control of LightwaveRF devices (without Wifi link)
  • Control of EDF or CurrentCost Individual Appliance Monitors
  • Control of TVs etc by by inrfared using an RF to IR gateway
  • Control of IP cameras
  • Email alerts
  • Voice synthesis and spoken alerts
  • Control of a Spotfy music server
  • Phone integration using AutomateIt
  • Google calendar integration
  • Integration with Jeenode and Home Automation Hub room server
  • Indoor plant soil moisture control monitoring
  • Appliance monitoring and control using EDF IAMs
  • Integration with Open Energy Monitor emonTx
  • COSM integration
  • Room occupancy monitoring
  • Turtlebot robot control?

It would take quite a bit of work to make it easily installable as a server, and to make each of the features optional and configurable, but I think I will start moving it in that direction.

The project might be more interesting to people when I get round to adding extra features such as control of blinds, heating control, integration with alarm systems, door bell integration, voice control and gesture control.

This entry was posted in Home automation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turning ORControl into a product

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested.
    Kudos!

  2. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get three emails with the
    same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

  3. Augustus says:

    I really was initially researching for strategies for my own
    site and stumbled upon ur blog post, “Turning ORControl into a
    product | Geek Grandad”, will you care if I start using
    a few of your concepts? Many thanks -Deidre

Leave a Reply

