Psychotropic house

My aim is to make my house psychotropic as in the story The thousand dreams of Stellavista in the short story collection Vermilion Sands by JG Ballard.

Unfortunately plastex has not been invented yet and programmable matter has not reached that level of sophistication. I think the first step in that direction would be complete Oled wall and ceiling panels that could be reconfigured to dynamically position TV displays, pictures, touch screens, clocks, lights etc.. It may be a little while before these are affordable.

Responding to the moods of the house occupants is currently a bit tricky unless everyone wears headsets.

I also would not be keen on the house trying to murder me, due to its psychological trauma caused by the previous occupants, as happens in the story.

This entry was posted in Electronics, future, Home automation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment